top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKhushi Vakta

Preparing for Big Things

This week in ISM we have our showcase coming up where we will display to our friends, family, and other professionals all the work we've done so far in ISM. We've created display boards will information ranging from our mission statement and quote to information about our mentor. Additionally, a section about our original work project was included. I passed out invitations I made to my mentor, teachers, and friends hoping they would come and see my work done so far in my ISM journey. Additionally, earlier today I had my second mentor visit with Dr.Macias at her lab at the University of North Texas and we had great conversations about my final product ideas and what the best methods to create them were. We decided on the idea of me being able to gather scientific liturate she can use in a research paper she is writing on mosquito transgenesis. She showed me a couple of different ways to gather articles and other software to be able to cite those articles correctly, so I wouldn't have to manually do it. Additionally, she described that if I wrote a short abstract on all the articles I pull it would help her sort through them easier. Additionally, I was finally told to pull about 20- 30 articles and review them.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Conducting Scientific Research

I had a lot of questions about my end product before I started researching this article because I was planned on supporting my mentor with some of her research. I was perplexed by several of the basic

Growing through my journey

This week in ISM I gave my Original Work speech and this is the last speech I will have to give before final presentation night. During my last speech I had issues with the time limit as I went a litt

Taking the next steps

This week in ISM I was able to go on my first mentor visit where I listen to a seminar my mentor had on her research. I was so excited that she invited me to come to this BioFrontiers seminar, as it a

bottom of page